Board of Trustees

Contact the Board

Lori Yonemitsu, Board secretary

Board news




Legal power and responsibility for the operation of Shoreline Community

College rests with the board of trustees. The board of trustees establishes and reviews college policies and oversees the general management of funds and properties.


The board is composed of five trustees, who are appointed by the governor of Washington State with the consent of the Senate.  The board of trustees acts as a unit. As such, it represents the public interest and functions to ensure the basic fiscal integrity of the college.


Members of the Board

Shoubee Liaw, Board Chair 

Appointed: December 2005. Reappointed: October 2010. Trustee Liaw has worked for the Shoreline and Seattle School Districts and DSHS and serves on a number of statewide associations and committees.


Tayloe Washburn, Vice Chair

Appointed: November 2012. Trustee Washburn is the Dean and CEO at Northeastern University's Seattle Campus and the former managing partner at Foster Pepper law firm in Seattle.


Phil Barrett

Appointed: March 2010. Trustee Barrett is a retired software executive, is a strong supporter of public schools and volunteers at his children's school.


Catherine D'Ambrosio

Appointed: November 2013. Trustee D'Ambrosio teaches at the University of Washington School of Nursing and is a  nursing analyst at Virginia Mason Medical Center. She operates a home health-care agency providing medically intensive care to children.


Tom Lux

Appointed: November 2013. Trustee Lux recently retired as an administrator with the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAM) union. Lux managed a joint labor/management team of program managers and career advisors that developed training opportunities and assisted Boeing hourly workers with their career paths.